Helping Aboriginal People
     Heal Themselves.

Georges Henry Erasmus | President

Born August 8, 1948, Fort Rae, North West Territories (N.W.T.), Canada.




High School, Yellowknife, N.W.T. Principal Occupation: Chair, Aboriginal Healing Foundation/Chief Negotiator, Decho First Nations.




Secretary, Indian Band Council, Yellowknife, N.W.T. (1969-71); Organizer and Chairman, Community Housing Association, Yellowknife, N.W.T. (1969-72); Advisor to President, Indian Brotherhood of N.W.T. (1970-71); Fieldworker and Regional Staff Director, Company of Young Canadians (1970-73); Director, Community Development Program, Indian Brotherhood of Northwest Territories (later the Dene Nation) (1973-76); President, Indian Brotherhood of Northwest Territories/Dene Nation (1976-83); President, Denendeh Development Corporation (1983); elected Northern Vice-Chief, Assembly of First Nations (1983-85); elected National Chief, Assembly of First Nations, Ottawa, Canada, (1985); re-elected National Chief (1988-91); Co-Chair, Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples (RCAP), Ottawa, Canada (1991 - 1996); Chair, Aboriginal Healing Foundation, Ottawa, Canada (1998); Chief Negotiator, Dehcho First Nations (2004).




Honorary Member, Ontario Historical Society (1990).


Awards, Honours:


Representative for Canada on Indigenous Survival International (1983-85); Canadian delegate to World Council of Indigenous Peoples International Conferences (1984-85); appointed Director of the World Wildlife Fund of Canada (1987-1990); appointed to the Order of Canada (Member, 1987; Officer, 1999); appointed to the Board of the Canadian Tribute to Human Rights (1987); Board Member, Energy Probe Research Foundation, Operation Dismantle (1988-98); Honorary Committee Member, International Youth for Peace (1988); Advisory Council Member, the Earth Circle Foundation (1988); Honorary Degree of Doctorate of Laws from: Queen’s University (1989), University of Toronto (1992), University of Winnipeg (1992), York University (1992), University of British Columbia (1993), Dalhousie University (1997), University of Alberta (1997), University of Western Ontario (2006), and University of Dundee (2007); Aboriginal Achievement Award for Public Service, (1998); Public Policy Forum Award for Public Policy Work (2006); Board of Directors, Earth Day (1990); Board of Directors, SAVE Tour (1990).


Published work:


Co-author, Drumbeat: Anger and Renewal in Indian Country (Summer Hill Publishers, 1990).